My hopes for a positive birth experience

My due date was Wednesday, 17th July 2013.

“Words are, of course, the most powerful drug used by mankind.” Rudyard Kipling

However I’m still patiently waiting for the arrival of my baby. I’ve been practising some hypno-birthing techniques over the past few months. Even though it’s taken me a while to look past how insubstantial on the surface hypno-birthing seems I finally can see it as a tool I can harness and use.

I can say for sure that it has helped ease my mind about any anxieties I felt and I really think the practises have made me feel calm and reassured.

I thought I would write some of my hopes and affirmations here as another way of remembering and internalising them.

My body knows how to birth my babyI trust my instincts to do what is best for my babyBabies are born when they are ready, not when anyone decides.I accept all my feelings as part of myself
I am strong, confident assured and assertive
I know my baby feels our calmness and confidence.
I am confident in my ability to birth naturally, painlessly and easily.
During labour and birth, I am completely relaxed and comfortable.
I will have an uncomplicated, peaceful, joyous and pleasurable birth.
My baby is healthy.
I am completely cooperating with my body.
I will breathe deeply and slowly to relax my muscles making it easier for my uterus to work.
My body is made to give birth, nice and easy.
I feel the strong waves of labour and know that everything is normal and progressing.
My body knows how to have this baby just as my body knew how to grow this baby.
I love my baby and I am doing all that is necessary to bring about a healthy birth.
Birth is an easy and natural occurrence for which my body has been perfectly designed.
The power and intensity of my birth cannot be stronger than me, because it is me.
I am ready and prepared for childbirth.
My job is to simply relax and allow the birth to happen.
I see myself handling everything beautifully.
Birth will go exactly as it should.

Has anyone else tried hypno-birthing?

What are your views about natural analgesia?

2 thoughts on “My hopes for a positive birth experience

  1. Best of luck in your upcoming labour!

    I have not tried hypno-birthing, but I have read from others that it is a wonderful way to give birth. Are you part of a birth club for instance, babycenter? You may find women that have already given birth this month with hypno-birthing and can share their experiences or expecting mothers that want to give it a shot as well. I truly wish you a positive birth experience.

    However, if there is one piece of advice I can give you is that IF things do not go as planned, do not beat yourself up. No matter how labour progresses and how you ultimately give birth, know that the most important part, is the baby at the end.

    • Thanks so much. You’re so right, and I’m so excited now at the prospect of meeting my baby soon!

      And yeah, I had a look on the babycentre forums and they have quite a few members who hypno-birth – good idea!

Leave a Reply

